India’s “false fielding,” according to Nurul Hasan, went unpunished: What is he referring to, and what are the laws?

Nurul Hasan of Bangladesh claims that during his team’s five-run DLS loss against India, a case of “false fielding” went unpunished.

Hasan missed a last-ball six that would have knotted the scores as the tense game came down to the wire. Litton Das, Bangladesh’s leading scorer, was controversially ejected from the game after sliding twice in the sloppy circumstances that followed the rain delay.

Hasan brought up another frustrating incident that occurred after the game. He said to the press after the game, “You saw that we had to play on a wet outfield, but there was also a case of false fielding which also didn’t go our way.
Hasan seems to be referring to an incident that happened in the seventh over of the chase. Virat Kohli imitated a relay throw at the non-end striker’s while Arshdeep Singh in the deep threw into the keeper while Das played a stroke towards the off-side. India would have received a five-run fine and the ball would have been re-bowled if the umpires had deemed this to be “fake fielding.” Bangladesh ultimately fell short by five runs of tying the game.
What is stated by the “fake fielding” law?
The goal of the “fake fielding” regulation, which was put into effect in 2017, is to prevent fielders from misleading or annoying opposing hitters. According to Fraser Stewart, the MCC’s Laws of Cricket manager, “The rationale for the creation of this law was that fielders were purposely claiming to hold the ball in order to trick the batters, so preventing them from getting additional runs.” The batters would observe a slide and a fake throw and would, for instance, reject to score a second run. It would be too late to make the second run by the time they realised the ball hadn’t been thrown. It was considered unjust.

Law 41.5 of the MCC’s Laws of Cricket says that it is unfair for any fielder to purposefully try to confuse, deceive, or hinder either batter after the striker has received the ball. Whether a distraction, deceit, or obstruction is intentional or not is up to the umpires.

The decision to classify Kohli’s mimed toss as “false fielding” rests with the match authorities. Bangladesh was able to run two, but they couldn’t have ran a third. Stewart discussed an occasion where Kumar Sangakkara feigned to have claimed the ball in order to induce Ahmed Shehzad to dive for his crease, despite the fact that the law doesn’t mention attempting to gain an advantage.

The Sangakkara example, according to Stewart, is less precise. Although it is technically true that he is trying to intentionally mislead the batter, I’m not sure what benefit he is actually obtaining. It appears to be done more in fun than in an effort to create uncertainty and stop a run from being scored. One could not contest the punishment being inflicted in accordance with the wording of the law. However, an umpire may also decide to address it by having a private conversation with him and advising him of the new law. As with any such legislation, it will always be up to the umpires to determine what constitutes “deliberate” behaviour and what qualifies as “deception.”

All T20 World Cup games will be live streamed by Bet365 on your PC, iPhone, iPad, or Android device. This means that bet365 users will get access to every T20 World Cup match from wherever in the world.

What do you think?

ZZED Reporter

Written by ZZED Reporter

Leave a Reply


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Kundali Bhagya: Anjum Fakih gives Shraddha Arya the option to hold her ti**ies alongside Solid message

Imran Khan, a former cricketer for Pakistan and the country’s prime minister, was reportedly wounded in the leg.