“Our people’s gift…”: Mamata Banerjee thanks voters

Mamata Banerjee
Mamata Banerjee

After what appears to be resounding victories in bypolls to the Asansol Lok Sabha seat and the Ballygunge assembly constituency, Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has expressed gratitude to the people of the state. The ruling Trinamool is expected to win both seats as a result of the recruitment of ex-BJP members.

I express my heartfelt gratitude to the voters of the Asansol parliamentary constituency and the Ballygunge assembly constituency for providing a clear mandate to the AITC party candidates, as stated in a tweet by the chief minister.

“Our people’s loving Shubho Nababarsho gift to our Ma-Mati-Manush organisation.” We are grateful to the voters for placing their trust in us yet again “” she explained.

In the Ballygunge seat, former union minister Babul Supriyo is almost guaranteed to defeat the CPI(MSaira )’s Shah Halim, who is running against him. Supriyo, who left the BJP after the party suffered a humiliating setback in the Bengal assembly election last year, joined the Trinamool in September after the party’s defeat.

As of 1.30 p.m., he has received more than 33,000 votes. His CPI(M) opponent had approximately 25,500 votes. With less than 5,500 votes, the BJP, which fielded Keya Ghosh, in a distant third place in the polls. Kamruzzaman Choudhury, a member of the Congress, has approximately 4,500 votes.

Shatrughan Sinha, the actor-turned-politician, has a commanding lead against the BJP’s Agnimitra Paul in the Asansol byelection. As of 1:30 p.m., Sinha has received over 4.7 lakh votes. With less than 2.7 lakh votes, his BJP opponent is in a distant second place. Partha Chatterjee of the CPI(M) is in third place with fewer than 63,000 votes.

Sinha is a two-term member of the Lok Sabha representing Bihar’s Patna Sahib constituency, which he won while running on a BJP ticket. The victory will be his first after resigning from the BJP and joining the Congress soon before the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

He was nominated to represent Patna Sahib, however he was defeated by a wide margin to erstwhile colleague Ravi Shankar Prasad, who received more than six lakh votes in the election. The Trinamool Congress welcomed Sinha as a new member in March, hailing Mamata Banerjee as the “tigress of Bengal.””As a result, we consider this to be the warm Shubho Nababarsho gift from our people to our Ma-Mati-Manush organisation.


What do you think?

ZZED Reporter

Written by ZZED Reporter

Leave a Reply


Your email address will not be published.

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings


Covid-19: Delhi caseload climbs once more; senior government officials to meet on April 20.

bhagwant mann

From July 1, Punjab AAP government has kept its commitment to give each household 300 free units of electricity.